EM Development Network

IntroductionContactsCase studies
Tackling local authority legal recruitment and retention challenges through innovative partnerships:

  • Innovative and collaborative approach
  • Faster recruitment, attracting high quality candidates
  • Creative development opportunities
  • Increased retention of quality staff.

What is the EM Development Network?

Most local government legal departments find it difficult to recruit and retain the high calibre lawyers they need, at all levels, from trainees and newly qualified staff to highly experienced professionals.

The EM Development Network is a collaborative approach to meeting these challenges, with a proven track record of success. The Development Network includes local authorities and law firms specialising in local government law. The approach is adaptable to your specific circumstances – at it’s core, this is about thinking creatively to meet the challenges you face.

Attracting the right candidates
To meet the challenges on recruitment it is necessary to think differently. Bearing in mind the role, the likely quality of candidates and the unique features of your existing team, your needs will vary each time.

Retaining talented individuals
We can’t keep hold of staff forever, but we can make their role and experience as interesting and engaging as possible and give them the best opportunity to move into a quality role in the future. Sometimes a lawyer’s role changes or they want to take the next step in the career, but providing that support in house may not be possible. The EM Development Network can help.

Case studies
We’ve provided a number of case studies (see above) giving examples of ways the EM Development Network has been successful. These are there to inspire – your own flexibility and creative thinking are at the core of making these relationships provide the most benefit.

What’s in it for us?

The benefits from this way of working flow both ways. For example:

Benefits to the recruiter/employer:

  • A wider pool of quality candidates attracted
  • Reduced recruitment costs
  • Enhanced development opportunities resulting in higher skilled work force at lower cost
  • Reduced turnover of staff.

Benefits to the partner involved:

  • Development opportunities for their team
  • Opportunity to build partnerships for the future
  • Building strong networks and contacts
  • Knowledge transfer and learning from others experience.

If you are interested in exploring working together with one of the EM Development Network partners, please feel free to make contact directly with the participants listed below.

Craig Elder, Browne Jacobson
craig.elder@brownejacobson.com

Elizabeth Warhurst, North West Leicestershire District Council
elizabeth.warhurst@nwleicestershire.gov.uk

Richard Barlow, Browne Jacobson
richard.barlow@brownejacobson.com

Clara Thomson, Coventry City Council
clara.thomson@coventry.gov.uk

Emma Horton, Leicester City Council
emma.horton@leicester.gov.uk

Gareth Oldale, Sharpe Pritchard
goldale@sharpepritchard.co.uk

Annie Moy, Sharpe Pritchard
amoy@sharpepritchard.co.uk

Fran Whyley, Gedling Borough Council
francesca.whyley@gedling.gov.uk

David Hutton, Bevan Brittan
david.hutton@bevanbrittan.com

Stuart Evans, Birmingham City Council
stuart.j.evans@birmingham.gov.uk

Julie Newman, Coventry City Council
julie.newman@coventry.gov.uk



Transferring skills through mentorships